On Emma Watson’s ambassadorship

Dear Dad,

Did you see the news on Emma Watson being named a UN Goodwill Ambassador for women’s rights? Pretty cool, right? I mean between this an JK Rowling’s new short story, there’s been a lot to digest this week for us Potterheads.

My favorite thing about this news, though, is not that Emma Watson will be serving as a Goodwill Ambassador, but the promotion of the HeForShe campaign, which encourages men to stand up for women and promote gender equality. I’ve said it before and I’ll continue to say it as often as possible: Men need to speak up to help achieve gender equality. Men can use their voices to amplify the causes of women, speaking out against sexual assault, domestic violence, casual everyday sexism and oppression.

I’m hopeful that Emma Watson’s voice will help bring more attention to the cause, and optimistic about the future.

Love,

Victoria

2 thoughts on “On Emma Watson’s ambassadorship

  1. I love reading these!
    Maybe your next post could address this tumblr: http://womenagainstfeminism.tumblr.com/
    These women don’t seem to understand what feminism is, especially #7 and 8. I would argue that today’s feminism is the driving force in redefining what is traditionally thought of as “women’s issues” like domestic violence, rape or body image, by recognizing that all genders can be perpetrators or victims.
    Now to read the rest of your posts!

    • Hi, Michele! Thanks!
      And wow, I had not seen this blog, but I have seen women posting similar things. In fact, I used to believe that feminism was a dirty word, and that’s part of why I’m so committed to this blog, and talking about why feminism is so important to me.
      I’ll see if I can work in a post about it!
      And thanks again for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

